Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Download “Shock – Bringing it Home to You and Me – Nov 15, 2012.mp3” Voice Recording


Length: 49 min 48 sec

This is my voice recording discussing shock – how it applies to people, veterans and non-veterans alike. My goal is to bridge the gap between Warfighters – Veterans, and everyone else. There’s a disconnect in people who have never experienced military, war, combat, and those that have. Our media depicts action and dramatic events and that’s how our society relates to Warfighters, ect. But it’s more of a theatrical, or dramatic relation, than a real intimate connection.

So I wanted to bring home the stages of Shock, what causes shock, and discuss ideas about how a Warfighter may deal with shock differently than non-Warfighters – by using everyday experiences in life, I wanted to tie a connection between you and me. Putting shock in terms of you, and your life – by sharing intimate experiences of my own outside of combat. From the death of my dog hours ago, to divorcing my ex-wife, to near suicide, the potential risk in loss of the love of my life, to being shot at.

We are all human, just like you; fragile, weak, made of flesh, and imperfect just like you. Capable of loss, of pain, of love, of lust, of joy and peace. We are not some alien life-form unrelated to yourself that’s exploited in movies and video games – we are real; humans, just like you.